About Us

The Calcutta National Medical College has its origin in the National Medical Institute or "Jatiya Ayurbigyan Vidyalaya" in 1921, founded as a product of the Non-cooperation movement. It was inaugurated by Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose. The College is locally known as Chittaranjan Hospital. Established in 1948, the institute was nationalized in 1967. The college is accredited by the Medical Council of India (MCI). It was affiliated with the University of Calcutta till 2003. It is currently affiliated to the West Bengal University of Health Sciences. Admission to this institute is on a complete merit basis and by national-level competitive examinations. Previously admission to the undergraduate course was through WBJEE and AIPMT. From 2017 onwards NEET has become the sole entrance test for admission to the undergraduate as well as post graduate courses. 15% undergraduate seats are filled up through all India quota and 85% undergraduate seats are filled up through state quota. For post graduate seats half are filled up through all India quota and the rest are filled up through state quota. Every year 250 students are admitted to the MBBS course based on their National Eligibility and Entrance Test (NEET-UG) rankings. Admission to the post graduate courses is through NEET-PG conducted by the National Board of Examinations (NBE).[2]

Services or offerings





Helping You Connect

  • 32 Gorachand Road, Beniapukur, Kolkata, West Bengal 700014
  • None
  • 03322844834
  • info@cnmckolkata.in


Images :

Events not found

News not found

Announcements not found